What is love – Guest Blog

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Guest Blog, Guest Bloggers

What is love?!

I have thought for a while what my post would discuss. It is hard to find a solid topic to speak on, usually because not any one of us has true understanding of any one topic in this plane that we exist in. Essentially we are all scholars who come up with a conclusion in any topic based on our experiences. It is why there are varies conclusions or theories on one topic.

I wanted to examine what love is, what it means to me and the space in which I live. How I share it with others and myself in my world. Wikipedia says that love is an emotion of strong affection and personal attachment. In philosophical context, love is a virtue representing all of human kindness, compassion, and affection. Love is central to many religions, as in the Christian phrase, “God is love” or Agape in the Canonical gospels. Love may also be described as actions towards others (or oneself) based on compassion, or as actions towards others based on affection.

In English, love refers to a variety of different feelings, states, and attitudes, ranging from pleasure (“I loved that meal”) to interpersonal attraction (“I love my partner”). “Love” may refer specifically to the passionate desire and intimacy of romantic love, to the sexual love of eros, to the emotional closeness of familial love, or the platonic love that defines friendship, to the profound oneness or devotion of religious love.This diversity of uses and meanings, combined with the complexity of the feelings involved, makes love unusually difficult to consistently define, even compared to other emotional states.

Love in its various forms acts as a major facilitator of interpersonal relationships and, owing to its central psychological importance, is one of the most common themes in the creative arts.

Love may be understood a part of the survival instinct, a function keeping human beings together against menaces and to facilitate the continuation of the species.

 It is interesting how there is no one way to describe love. I found through discussion with others that love is a continuous action outside the realm of logic. It is the only thing that exists solely on a feelings and emotional basis. I guess in a way that makes sense, I mean how else would you explain God’s unconditional love? If I was God, a lot of people would have been banished to hell a long time ago.  The human race as it is right now wouldn’t there. Lets look at a non-religious example, a mother who loves her child despite how evil that child maybe. In some case she may even protect him/her from the punishment that he or she deserves. Or when a mother sacrifices eating to feed her child. Or when, even after a painful break up, a couple still finds the ability to love one another. So it stands to reason, true love cannot be understood logically. It just exists and evolves sometimes even without our knowledge.

I look at my own world, and how love exists in it. I find that I am a very compassionate person. A lot of times my love comes freely. It is never hard for me to embrace someone into my world with love and understanding. But often my love comes with conditions. These conditions aren’t a conscience thought; they just are based on the experiences prior to that person. I expect a certain treatment, and respect that often I am unaware of until those conditions are not met. Usually I find that I am overly upset and hurt because the person I embraced didn’t treat me a certain way, or didn’t respect me. This is the reason why I chose this topic. It is in efforts to understand myself within the framework of love. Spirituality teaches us compassion and love for others and self. What I feel it doesn’t teach us is how to love, and be compassionate with others despite how human they maybe.

Love is logic, a friend of mine would say. This was in attempts to explain away why I stayed in “loveless” relationship. But was it really loveless? He still now and again attempts to reach out, and will always say that he loves me, yet if I tell it, I felt unloved. Maybe what I was lacking was feeling special, feeling that he was exclusive with me, and that he was devoted to me. I guess most women including myself equate this to love. Yet, in that space of being, love can easily not exist. So I guess my question then is, how do we know what is love? Is it like the song by Howard Jones?

I understand that within this post I have asked more questions than answered. Yet I feel I have a better understand, of myself when it comes to love. Maybe we have all wrong. Maybe we shouldn’t be trying to understand love, but rather understand ourselves within the framework of love. Understand our comings and goings and try to adjust according. Maybe that is the very definition of love.

~KK

if you love this post visit my blog at Her Blog

xoxo

Say Something

